Nénuphar

Standard

After lots of emails asking me when I was to publish the pattern…

After the times cursing that I lost the notes for the pattern only to find out they were behind my books…

After deciphering said notes and countless of swatches later…

It is ready.

HPIM5362

A few years ago, I found a pattern of an Estonian-inspired lace waterlily motif, and I thought it would be perfect for my sister-in-law’s birthday shawlette, and modified the pattern a bit so it could become more lacy. After thumbing through Walker’s Third Book of Knitting Patterns, I found a lace border pattern that I tinkered with until I got I wanted.

Well, she loved it, and so did everyone else who saw the finished item, online and off. Those people started asking for the pattern, which I worked on off and on the years. (I was distracted with more knitting, okay? I admit it.) Only these months I have been constantly working on it, tweaking the pattern into a slightly streamlined version of the original.

Now, I am letting you know that the pattern I am giving you all will look like this –

115_1404

Instead of the more solid motifs you may have noticed in the first photo, I felt that having a more open motif would look better. If you feel differently, let me know, and I will be more than happy to send you the original pattern. 🙂

Also, keep in mind that, yes, you can use a higher weight of yarn with this pattern. The photo above shows it done in DK/light worsted weight, and it came out to almost a foot in width; only one repeat of the pattern was used.

If, at any time, you find an error, please let me know! Comment here or email me at joey5542001(at)gmail(dot)com and I will fix and correct and do all those lovely things while I curse your name and get drunken bitterness.

Or not.


Aug. 28, 2013 Errata! On Row 22 on Chart D of the revised chart (blue button), please do three sets of (SSK, YO) at the beginning instead of four, and three sets of (YO, K2Tog) instead of four. Thanks to Ms. M. for pointing the error out! Charts will be updated!

Dec. 23, 2013 Update! Chart for the revised chart has been, er, revised to the above errata. I thought I did it already, sorry to say.

Nov. 15, 2014 Update! After much thought, I decided to put the pattern for sale.

Included in the file is the original mesh pattern and the solid motif charted patterns.

Leave a Reply

