Impromptu Poetry

Standard

So, while I’m on Facebook, I occasionally see posts from a local poet by the name of Edward Vidaurre. He’s a very neat guy; I’ve seen him recite his works in person. Anyway, these posts are prompts. He gives five words and tells us to write a poem with them. I’ve been meaning to post them on the writing blog, but I think I can do better if I put them here.

In the darkest of yesteryears,
mermaids drifted through the seas
speaking in heavenly dialects,
luring sailors to their dooms.

===

Raindrops in my heart
Tears falling all around me
Sorrow is the sea

===

The smell of watercress
renewed dissolving memories
of me and you, walking barefoot
through the thorny garden.
Tears falling, reliving such glad moments.

===

I strolled the urban cupolas
Enmeshed with the rails.
The threnodies of trains
Leaving me numb
As they passed
Above me, the sunlight strobing.

Leave a Reply

