It’s A Heartache

Standard

Now Listening: Pavement – AT&T
Mood: Zombie Goat

A week has gone by and me with nothing to show for it. Correction: I finished the blanket throw.

Finished blanket!

Hook size: H/8, 5.0mm
Yarn: Scrap wool
Finished size: Approximately 4×5 ft [1.22x 1.5m]

I think I mentioned it before, but I consider this my summer project. Started with enough to make a scarf, but then I couldn’t stop. Until this beautiful thing came out. I even did a border.

Blanket edging

I spend a while trying to find one, and I thought to myself, “Dude, why not just make one?” So, I got a wool I didn’t use with the main body and did a modified mesh stitch, as follows:

First row: Ch5 (counts as a single crochet and Ch3), *single crochet in space, ch3* until end, slip stitch second chain
Second row: Ch6 (counts as half-double and ch3), *half-double crochet in chain space, ch3* until end, slip stitch 3rd chain. Bind off.

After that, I sewed in the ends and gave it a quick wash in the washer – extra large load amount with about a tablespoon or so of Gain laundry detergent. Yes, I know, I can see you guys wincing at that admission, but I was very watchful. Nothing bad came out of it, besides the blanket smelling of faintly pine forest. I spread it out on a shower curtain I bought for the purpose of unpinned blocking, and let it dry for the night.

It’s very warm and very snuggly. I’ve been using it for the times the AC shoots out its thick gooey flow of cold air during the night time, and it is quite comforting.

But right now, I’m making a hat.

0908061348a

It was the Big Nephew’s birthday these past weeks, and I promised him a hat when I was done with the blanket. So when I was thoroughly recuperated from the crochet attack, I cast on for the hat. I’m using the same yarn I used for the Boneyard Shawl, the last skein of it actually, and so far it’s coming out nicely. A bit too big, but I think it will look nice on the guy.

Leave a Reply

