Where have I been?! (30KC 20-24)

Standard

So! October Country has ended, and we’re now in the November Nation. As a disclaimer, I am not doing Nanowrimo this year; although, I did have that inner voice telling me to do it, but it was stifled when I slipped on spilled tea yesterday and landed on my bad (left) knee. Feeling better now, but the pain’s still there a bit. :\

Halloween was quiet, but Halloween Eve was a bustle of activity. First, the knitting class was very productive.

Knitting Class!

Which was surrounded by various Halloween decor. You see, Thursday was the Library’s Halloween Festival. We were going to have games and lots of candy. It didn’t come off as planned, though — Not many people came, but those who did were in costume, and we did have a fun time. The kids came also.

Halloween pic of the kids

I dressed as a sheik; the costume was purchased by the library, so I couldn’t complain really. I could complain about the beard, which brought a small attack of hives, but that’s something else.

So, moving along, time to answer questions. Five days worth of them.

Day 20: Do you knit in public? Was anyone offended/incredibly happy/curious that you were doing so?

I have been knitting in public for years, and I have gotten an assortment of incidents. The usual thing is, “Oh, my mother/sister/grandma/aunt knits!” or, “I’ve never seen a guy knit before!” Mostly, they look, and they treat it as something not worth mentioning, really. No anger, though, but I think that, down here, the idea that knitting is solely a girl’s craft isn’t much cemented.

Day 21: Do you knit gifts for friends and family for the holidays or birthdays?

If you read the blog, you’ll see loads of things I have given to friends and family. I have knit Swallowtail Shawls for two of my sisters, a Wingspan for another, various things to my younger sis, and loads more things.

Day 22: Have you ever stricken someone off your to-knit-for list because they didn’t appreciate/take care of your last knitted gift to them?

Truth be told, I have stricken off some of the nephews because they either do not wear them or didn’t treat the items the way I wanted them to be. Also, I have trepidation about knitting for mom, because she doesn’t wear anything I give her.

Day 23: If you had the supplies (and patience) for it, what project would you start today?

Another sweater for me. Maybe an Anniversary or an EZ Aran.

Day 24: Have you ever made your own pattern or dyed your own yarn? How did it turn out?

I have my Nénuphar shawl, and I am in the process of finishing the Sunrise shawl, so I guess it’s alright, eh? 😀

And yes, I had the pleasure of dying yarn. More on that later. :3

Leave a Reply

