Stoking the starmaker (30KC Day 9-11)

Standard

I do beg pardon, but seeing that I missed the bus to class, I’m taking the free time to make this. I should be knitting, though.

Day 9: What fiber or yarn do you love working with?

Wool and wool blends.

Day 10: Do you have a favorite pattern or designer?

Elizabeth Zimmerman, hands down. Her designs are just so amazing and simple. However, Jared Flood (aka BrooklynTweed) is also an awesome designer, so it comes to a close contest as to who’s better.

Speaking of Flood…

A new hat!

I’m making a Habitat hat, pattern courtesy of Flood. The yarn is a chunky weight superwash that I got from Tuesday Morning last week, and I’m using US11 needles for the hat. It might be a slouchy oversized hat, but the more the merrier, I say.

Day 11: Do you have a “Knitter Hero” or someone that is just way too awesome for their own good? Do share!

Hm. I would have to say Miss Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, AKA The Yarn Harlot. I’ve been reading her blog for years and I have to say that she is darned amazing. I would love to meet her in person, but I doubt that will happen any time soon.

===

Alright, now that is taken care of, let me give you the week that was.

So Wednesday was my birthday, and I took the time to get a day off of a fashion: it was a self-study class, so I didn’t need to go to class. Instead, I went to the shopping district and window shopped for a while (and got the aforementioned yarn). Then when I got home, the family took me to Denny’s for some free Grand Slam noms.

Birthday Moose meets Birthday Cake

I also got a $20 KnitPicks gift card as a gift, and seeing that they have a book sale…I’m still indecisive as to get what to get. LOL!

Thursday, I got an impromptu birthday party from the girls of the Knitting Class, who gave me a cheesecake slice from the Library Deli and a birthday coffee. I also got a loom knitting thingie.

Loom knitting!

That was a practice swatch; I need to post on what is there now. But yes, it is an interesting diversion from knitting, and because of that, the needles languished for a day or two.

This weekend was this:

Tax homework!

Homework for the class. It’s practice for the mid-term exam we’re having this week, and I need some help with it at the moment. But still, it’s mostly done. Mostly.

Leave a Reply

