Pie Mode, On!

Standard

Now Listening: Donald Fagen: Florida Room
Mood: Peachy!

When one is with several pounds of Georgia peaches, one often wonders what to do with them. Jam? Preserves? Wait until they ripen and eat them from hand?

I was content to let them ripen when Mom interrupted me from playing Earthbound (mid-90s SNES game, kinda trippy really, but good) and asked me just what was I going to do with them.

“Pie!” The word was out of my mouth without a thought.

“Pie?” she asked skeptically.

I was skeptical at the first also. Pie has never been my strength. I usually came out with lumpy pastry and soggy filling, usually under-baked and not looking anything like those oh-so-lover-ly creations I see in the magazines.

But the idea had merit. Instead of putting them into jam – which was my first thought really – I could try making another pie!

Keep in mind that I have not tried making one in years, most of those years have been me with cookies and cakes. Pie? Uhm…how am I supposed to do that?

Thankfully, Google came to the rescue and gave me a “I’m Feeling Lucky” guess of Smitten Kitchen, one of the best foodblogs I have come across. I StumbledUpon the site with their recipe of Shakshuka back in ’11, which I made to great reviews. So when I found that they had a sweet recipe for peach pie, I felt I hit gold.

119_1741

The crust was amazingly simple. Butter kneaded into a flour-salt-sugar mix, then doused with water and mixed with a little manhandling until it came together. After an hour and a half in the fridge (while I tried to defeat the blue fanatics of Happy-Happy) I rolled out the bottom crust.

The peaches were a bit tricky, because I never peeled them before and therefore left me with sticky hands and slightly mushy fruits. It was alright, though. A bath of aciduated water helped them from not browning.

119_1742119_1744

I mistakenly added 1/3 cup of sugar instead of the recommended 1/4 cup, but I didn’t care. I should have added some more cinnamon though. And I didn’t have nutmeg, more the pity. But all those juices…wow…

119_1746

Terra took the photo on this one. She really needs to learn not to jiggle the camera around. 🙂 After putting the top crust on, and brushing it a milk-water mix, I popped it in the oven and went off to defeat those blasted fanatics again.

119_1750

You might see some leakage on the bottom of the pie pan. I thought I crimped the dough well enough to seal in the edge, but apparently, it wasn’t enough. Live and learn, I guess. Didn’t stop me from sneaking in the first slice.

119_1752

The result? Flaky, tasty crust. Sweet peach flavor unimpeded by any frills. Way too juicy for my taste, but next time I make this, I’ll either decrease the sugar or increase the cornstarch.

Next time? Oh yeah. As it may occur to you, it’s pie season! I have to make more pies! This one really upped my confidence levels.

Leave a Reply

