Roses and bread

Standard

There’s a legend of a noble lady who, after berated by her husband for helping the poor, was walking down a country road one day in mid-winter carrying loaves of bread. The husband, along with his friends, caught her while making the journey, and after questioned what she was carrying, she said that she was carrying roses. Knowing she was caught in a lie, the husband pulled back the wrappings of the package to find that, indeed, she was carrying roses, fresh in bloom.

It is a romantic tale, almost as romantic as the flower itself. And me, a terrible romantic, would love to have many of them in the front yard. In fact, I have been looking through websites for flowers and reading books of ‘rose rustling’.

115_1512

In Search of Lost Roses, although an old book (published in ’89), might as well inspire me to go on and hunt for the richly antique roses of the Old World, as well as see about cheating a little and ordering cuttings online. It is a fascinating book, equally romantic and mysterious. I would love to hunt around the area and see about looking for them.

Of course, bread is equally fascinating too.

115_1509
115_1511

The ciabatta bread that I wanted to try out and make. Found the recipe on Korena In The Kitchen last week and reblogged here.

Points of interest:

1) The dough did not come out as I though it would, so I immediately added almost an additional cup after mixing the original amount in, and it came out to proper consistency. I would blame the flour, though.
2) Instead of kosher salt, I used regular table, but I used a teaspoon of it. It came out pretty good.
3) The darned dough, apart from sticky and clinging to everything no matter how heavily it was greased, almost bubbled out of the bowl it was rising in! At least it wasn’t brioche…
4) I think I deflated it some when I was shaping the loaves. I was rather gentle with it, like I was handling a baby. But(!) I repeat that it was rather sticky then and did cling a bit, so…

115_1513

But I definitely want to make it again. It was tasty, the crumb chewy but did not require a diamond blade like my other breads do.

Leave a Reply

