I baked a cake.

Kinda said in the James Bond parody done by bunnies. Kinda.

119_1934

Today’s Dad’s birthday. Despite him gone all this time, we still celebrate it. Nothing bad about that, right?

119_1933

Those are the Italian prune plums that I mentioned in passing last year. I did promise myself that when they came back in season, I’d buy them again, and I kept that promise at least. When I get to buy them again, I might make them into jam, using this recipe. Might. I keep making promises to make jam and send them as Christmas gifts. It’s terrible, I know.

119_1938

I don’t think Dad would like this cake. I don’t remember him liking plums. Peaches, maybe, but not plums. In fact, I don’t remember him eating any fruit, apart from grapefruits, in which he would peel both pith and membrane to enjoy the juicy pink pulp within. Still, it is a very simple recipe, kinda like an upside down cake but without the pineapple. Instead, it’s slices of plums and peaches that were seasoned with cinnamon and ground ginger. It was a good hit with the kids.

Now, if only I can get back to baking bread…

About Joey Bocanegra

Just your average Joe.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

